Open navigation

Re-archiving documents

Modified on Tue, 23 Jan 2024 at 12:31 PM

This article describes the new archiving features introduced in 22.1

Archiving in Aico

When documents are archived inside Aico, they are no longer editable, with two exceptions: 

1. Header-level comments can still be added.

2. By deliberate configuration, it is possible to configure the ability to add an attachment after the document has been archived on the template. 

Once archived, they are marked with a workflow status of “Archived”. They remain in the Aico database and can be viewed and their attachments downloaded but they cannot be worked on by any users. 

When the document is archived it is also possible for Aico to send the document to an external archive. This will create a PDF copy of the Aico document and, together with any attachments, these can be sent to an SFTP server provided by the customer. 

Note: Any attachments that are added to an archived document are not automatically added to the already externally archived document on the customer SFTP, but it is now possible to re-archive a document which would then include the newly added attachment. This will not replace the already externally archived document as Aico has no control over a customer SFTP but rather makes a new PDF and resends the attachments.

Re-archiving documents

Go to the System Manager Export/Import page.

Here, you can set the required dates to determine which documents will be re-archived. If the archiving is newly activated, that is you have already a number of existing Aico documents that have never been externally archived, this dialog will archive the selected documents for the first time.

Only documents that are in the archived status in Aico will be eligible for re-archiving (or archiving for the first time if archiving is newly activated).

Where documents are re-archived they are not from removed from the external archive (see note above) and there will therefore be potentially more than one copy of an archived document in the external archive depending on how you manage those files on the SFTP server.


Re-archiving in super user mode.

This will re-archive an individual document. Click here to learn how to get into super user mode and see if you have the correct permissions.


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article