Open navigation

How to schedule service breaks

Modified on Tue, 04 Apr 2023 at 08:23 AM

In Aico System Manager, there is a tool that can be used to schedule service breaks.

On the Maintenance tab, you can perform service activities in Aico. 

Currently, there are three functionalities available:

Clearing application in-memory cache

Set a status notification

Set up a service break

Clearing application in-memory cache

The system administrator can clear all in-memory caches in the application. This action can be performed at any time without causing any harm to those currently using the application.

To improve performance, Aico keeps certain information in an in-memory cache so that the application does not need to constantly fetch all data from the database. In normal circumstances, it should not be necessary for you to use this.

When a system administrator changes certain configurations, such as:

  • adding user roles
  • changing document templates

in-memory caches are cleared automatically to contain up-to-date information so there is no need to clear the caches manually.

1. Go to the Maintenance tab

2. Click Clear All Caches

If it seems that the application configuration has not been updated after the configuration change, the system administrator can force to clear the caches for the new configuration to take effect.

Set a status notification

The status notification is a free-form text that the system administrator can set. 

The text will be forcibly shown to all users in the Aico web client. See the example below:

After setting the status notification, the text will be shown to users when they next log in or refresh their browser if already logged in. The same applies to removing the status notification. 

Remember to click the Save button to apply the changes.

Set up a service break

Aico global system administrators can enable the service break mode to prevent end users from accessing the Aico web client. This can be useful when a larger configuration change needs to be done or, for example, when upgrading the Aico system.

When the service break starts, users are forced to log out

During the service break, users aren't allowed to log in to the Aico web client and background services stop processing documents. 

Users who try to log in to the application during a service break will see the status notification on the Aico web client login page similar to the below:

Global system administrators are not forced to log out. They can still log in to the Aico web client, but they will see a notification about the service break, as below:

To begin or end the service break, follow the steps below:

1. Set the appropriate notification message in the Status Notification field.

2. In the Is Service Break field, select Yes / No.

Finally, click Save. Note that when ending the service break (by selecting No), you also need to clear the Status Notification field if you don't want to show a message to end users any more.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article